_240_360_Book.989.coverI had the opportunity to review this deluxe set which includes two CD’s and the story book. Adventure Bible Storybook written by Catherine DeVries is very well illustrated and a great introduction to the Bible for young children. You may want to discuss more of the Bible with your child as you follow along with the book. Each “chapter” is quite condensed at being merely 2 or 3 pages long, so I thought certain pages were lacking the finer details; However, it gets the point across and will warm the hearts of the children who follow along with the audio. Included at the end of each Bible story is a short section called “Adventure Discovery” and “Words to Cherish”. “Adventure Discovery” is a sentence or two of additional knowledge of that particular Bible story, while “Words to Cherish” are direct quotes from the Bible. The audio CD’s I thought were fantastic. Music and sound effects really made each Bible story come to life! One thing I felt was missing from the CD’s was a small chime to let the reader know when to turn the page.  Because of this, a younger child who cannot read yet will have trouble following along.

Overall, I would have to give this book a 4 out of 5. I loved the audio and illustrations, although I took off a point since I would have liked more detail in some of the Bible stories.

Note: I received this book free from the publisher through a book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

