Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek is the first book in the Good News Shoes series. This is a young reader story that I think 8-11 year old readers will enjoy.

_225_350_Book.1106.cover

The story is about a twelve year old girl, Riley Mae. While her father had a meeting, the manager of a company (Swiftriver) who makes designer athletic shoes asks if his daughter could be the spokesperson of a new line. At first Riley Mae is excited to have a shoe line named after her and enjoys the publicity. However, it isn’t all fun and games. She soon finds out that being a spokesperson means missing out on softball games and hanging out with her best friend, TJ. She has commercials to shoot and lots of work to be done afterall!

This book has humor and the adventure I think young girls would enjoy reading. Riley Mae is a like-able character throughout the book and she is someone young readers can relate to. I’m interested in continuing the series to see what trouble Riley Mae and her friends will get themselves into next.

4/5 stars

Note: I received this book free from the publisher through a book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

